Blog

Braves’ Duvall nixed HR after slipping on bases

PHOENIX – Adam Duvall Teammate passed Austin Riley when running the bases after a ride over the wall in the middle left, this costs the Atlanta Braves slugger made his 38th homer of the season.

Duvall was eventually credited with a two-run single in the bizarre first inning on Wednesday night 9-2 win above that Arizona Diamondbacks. It happened because Riley thought the ball was caught.

With runners on first and third and one off, Duvall hit a deep fly ball Merrill Kelly. Arizona midfielder Jake McCarthy jumped near the wall and the ball bounced off his glove and landed in the first row of seats.

Riley, thinking McCarthy had the ball in his glove, retired to first base when Duvall overtook him between first and second. Duvall was expelled in second place in what is known as “Runner’s Fielder’s Choice”. Freddie Freeman and Riley scored a goal in the game to give Duvall 109 RBIs this season, who is leading the National League.

“I was not sure [McCarthy] “I didn’t get it,” said Braves manager Brian Snitker. “You may be playing the right game, but if the guy in front of you doesn’t, you need to be aware of it. It’s not a bad rule at all.”

Duvall has had 15 home runs with the Braves since taking over from the Miami Marlins in July.

Baseball historians might suggest that Duvall isn’t the only braves-hitter to ever lose a 3-run homer to a baserunning mistake.

In 1959, Harvey Haddix of the Pirates brought a perfect game in the 13th inning against the Milwaukee Braves at Old County Stadium. With the score 0-0, a mistake put the Braves’ lead-off man on the base and finished the perfecto, and Hank Aaron was deliberately left with an out.

Slugger Joe Adcock then hit a drive over the fence for an apparent 3-run homer. However, Aaron thought the ball was still in play – when he saw the runner hit in front of him, he trotted off the field. Adcock meanwhile rounded off the bases.

The umpires counted Adcock’s homer and said the final score was 2-0. NL President Warren Giles later decided that Adcock should only be awarded a double and made it 1-0 final.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *